E-reader gifts a joy?

5 Jan

Did you get an e-reader as a holiday gift? I know I was excited as I opened a Kindle Fire Christmas morning. I reluctantly set it aside, though, to prepare dinner for guests. It wasn’t until the following evening that I escaped, my new e-reader tucked under my arm. For the next several hours, I downloaded my favorite apps.

After using them on my iPhone for a few years, the 7-inch screen seemed giant. Ever wonder why we get so excited about a 7-inch screen after investing in 42-60-inch flat-screen monitors?

Overall, I’m pleased with the Kindle Fire; though I’m glad I read reviews on it beforehand. When the touchscreen doesn’t always respond, I just try again. I also remind myself that its lack of a camera or microphone is no big deal; its primary purpose will be to read books, magazines and news and to play my favorite games.

I accessed Amazon’s free library and downloaded books left and right. For easy access, I chose to download the U.S. Constitution and its Bill of Rights. Then, I grabbed a few old favorites like Great Expectations and Bible stories, a cookbook and a weight-loss book. Thanks to Amazon, the New Oxford American dictionary already was on my Kindle Fire shelf. I added The Velveteen Rabbit for my granddaughter and a few biographies, and I was ready to read.

Also new Kindle Fire owners get a free month of Prime, an Amazon membership plan that is then offered for $79 annually.

I couldn’t believe how speedy the downloading was compared to downloading on my iPhone. So far, I’ve used free WiFi, and that’s worked fine, but I’m ready to invest in a plan that gives me power when I want it and where I want it.

I admit, though, it’s going to take some getting used to. Falling asleep reading, a friend has broken more than one Kindle as they hit the floor. Now, her new Kindle Fire rests between her and her spouse. One of my first Amazon shopping trips will be for a protective cover.

The Kindle Fire certainly grabbed my attention (and my spouse’s for the $199 price tag, less than half the cost of an iPad). Even our 2-year-old granddaughter wanted to try out my new toy.

“GiGi,” she called from her carseat, “I want to touch your Fire!” I had never shown it to her, and I didn’t have it out at the time. I quickly opened one of my game apps and handed it back to her. With giggles, she took her index finger and started playing Angry Birds. It sure helped shorten the trip with a toddler though I probably would recommend strict supervision.

So what about you? Share with us what e-reader you use and what you like or dislike about it. Just comment on this blog or e-mail me at Sheila.boggess@tstc.edu.

–Sheila

3 Responses to “E-reader gifts a joy?”

  1. Judith Briles January 18, 2012 at 3:40 am #

    Ebooks are great alternative to print books especially in this modern and advance age. Having an e-reader, for me, will not only offer access to more ebooks but also enable others to enjoy reading books in a digital media. For people who love to have, own or work on gadgets, I believe e-readers are excellent gifts to give and can become a joy for them.

    • sheilatstc January 18, 2012 at 9:37 am #

      Thanks, Judith. I agree, and am finding I’m using my Kindle Fire for much more than reading.

  2. customised bags March 12, 2012 at 10:42 pm #

    E-books are excellent substitute to list guides especially in this contemporary and progress age. Having an e-reader, for me, will not only provide entry to more ebooks but also allow others to savor examining guides in a electronic press.

Comments are closed.

