Twitter-dee, Twitter-dum

27 Jul

Let’s just say Twitter and I have not been the best of friends. My job as TSTC Publishing’s marketing manager, however, strongly suggests (no, demands) that I make the most of social media in promoting our books.

I’ve used Tweetdeck, SocialOomph and know Hootsuite exists. I opened a personal account, and also had access to our company’s Twitter accounts. Twitter-me-up, I’m not going to let Twitter get me down.

When I saw the book Historical Tweets: The Completely Unabridged and Ridiculously Brief History of the World by Alan Beard and Alec McNayr, I thought maybe a humorous book on Twitter might help me gain understanding.

The book is funny, and it’s a book you want to share. It’s a quick-read much like 140-character tweets. It also helps to know a little about Twitter. If you think a hashtag is a stew dish, then you’ve got more learning to do than I do.

The book makes its way through history, starting with Adam, the first man. From “tweeden,” Adam1 tweets, “@God OMY! I’m naked!” Eve replies “Eve @adam1 For the last time, my eyes are up here.” My favorite on this page, though, is from the 3-Toed Sloth @adam1: You followed the awesome names giraffe and zebra by naming me 3-toed sloth? Weak, man. So very weak.

The serpent’s reply was Snake @adam1 You’ll never get viruses if you go with Apple.

For someone who likes a play on words like the apple in Eden and today’s Apple computers, this book is a tickle a tweet.

This from cave_man: Today’s agenda: Keep fire alive, kill saber-tooth, and score tix to the Rolling Stones comeback tour.

The book’s historical tweets then take you to early followers like Alexandr: Accomplishments just earned me title of “Alexander the Good.” Must work harder.

From ArtyMike (Michelangelo) comes this tweet: Advice for young artists: Visit the site before quoting a price for a “simple ceiling paint job.”

With one tweet per page, the book moves quickly with such tweets as this one from alexGB (Alexander Graham Bell): Sick of chatting with @Watson, but he’s the only other person with a phone” from “tweetephone.”

Did I learn all about Twitter by reading this book? No, but I did enjoy every tweet, and now, I’m challenged to be just as creative in my own tweets.

-Sheila

One Response to “Twitter-dee, Twitter-dum”

  1. Mary July 27, 2011 at 8:42 am #

    hahah! Love it!

Comments are closed.

