And He Can Write, Too!

9 Jun

Recently, Chris Colfer and Little, Brown Books for Young Readers announced a two-book deal. We know Colfer the actor quite well. He is one of the stars from Glee, where he plays the charming Kurt Hummel, a role from which he received a SAG award. He has been honored as one of Time Magazine’s 2011 TIME 100 list of most influential people in the world.

While I adore Kurt…er, Chris on the popular TV show, I have to admit, I was skeptical when I first read the news. I envisioned a mixture of a Justin Beiber bio and Russell Brand’s two-part Wooky Book. Fill the pages with light-hearted pictures and Colfer’s fun anecdotes, such as how he created the role of Kurt during the auditions, and you are guaranteed to have a bestseller.

I should have known better. The deal was with Little, Brown Books for Young Readers, for one thing, and they don’t do biographies. The books are actually adventure stories for ages 8-12 year-olds.  The Land of Stories follows twins Alex and Conner Bailey. A supernatural book of stories transports them to a new world full of wonder and magic. On their adventures, they meet with the beloved characters they grew up reading. The synopsis sounds like a mix of The Neverending Story and The Emerald Atlas by John Stephens.

In the press release announcing the book, Colfer states, “When I was ten years old, I promised myself that if I ever had the opportunity to write this book, I would jump at the chance…This book has been at the core of my imagination for a long time, and I’m excited and nervous to share it.”

That’s not all! Along with his two children’s novels, Colfer is also writing the pilot for a new show on the Disney Channel called The Leftover Witch. The show is based off Florence Laughlin’s children book that follows a witch who is adopted by a family after she falls from her broken broom in the sky. In addition, he is writing the script for Struck by Lightning, an independent film he will star in.

The Land of Stories is set to be released August 7, 2012, in hardback and e-book format, and is available for pre-order through Barnes and Noble’s website.

-Ana

