Graphics Interns: Datebook Cover Design Poll

11 Jun

Blogging has been light lately; then again, blogging has been intentionally light for a while as we rethink exactly what audience we both want to reach and serve with this site. However, one thing we have been wanting to do for a while now is get feedback on different cover designs that the graphics interns work up in the office for different projects. To that end, our first experiment with trying this out are some cover roughs our second semester graphics intern Adam Chumley has come up with for a datebook/planner we have in the works.

This project came about because one of the bookstores we work with asked us if we could do a custom datebook for them so we’re taking a stab at it. Datebooks aren’t really anything we’ve done before but as a publisher it seems pretty attractive in one sense: there are only about half a dozen different page styles that just get updated for each month. The usual caveats apply: these are just cover roughs, nothing is set and stone, and, of course, all final designs have to get approval from the appropriate places and so on.

So, with no further ado (other than my apologies in advance for the wonky alignment of the images), here are your five designs (click on the thumbnails to see larger versions) to vote on below:

Label Maker Cover

Label Maker Cover

'60s Psychedelic Cover

’60s Psychedelic Cover

Rollerball Gears Cover

Rollerball Gears Cover

Texas Flag Cover

Texas Flag Cover

Space Age Cover

Space Age Cover

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

Of course, we’d also like to get feedback from folks about why they liked one design over another or particular elements in designs that they like or don’t like so much. If you’ll take the time to leave a comment below after voting, one lucky commenter will be chosen at random to receive a copy of The TSTC 40th Anniversary Cookbook.

Adam (and I) thank you in advance for your feedback,

Mark

14 Responses to “Graphics Interns: Datebook Cover Design Poll”

  1. Sarah-Jane Sanders June 12, 2009 at 7:31 am #

    I like the label maker design.

    • Mark Long June 12, 2009 at 7:33 am #

      so, why exactly is that? the label maker design has taken an early lead in the voting at this point but i really thought the space age design would be more popular.

  2. Autumn June 12, 2009 at 7:44 am #

    I voted for the Space Age Cover, mainly because it’s the only one that has TSTC on it. I do like Label Maker Cover, but there is not TSTC or logo.

  3. Lori Cates Hand June 12, 2009 at 7:59 am #

    I picked the label maker design, too. It’s readable but also colorful–but not so colorful that it hurts my eyes. My second choice would have been the flag cover. It looks very polished and capitalizes on school spirit.

  4. Mary Drennon June 12, 2009 at 9:42 am #

    I like the space age cover! It fits our technical image …

  5. Beth from Avenue Z June 12, 2009 at 12:37 pm #

    Totally love the gears one. It looks very modern.

    Thanks for letting us vote!

  6. Debra McIntosh June 12, 2009 at 7:49 pm #

    I liked the space age design but we really don’t use that tag line any more. Also, I think “yesterday” being upside down is awkward. I voted for the label maker design with an added logo. All were creative!

  7. ricky June 15, 2009 at 9:17 am #

    wwwwooooooowwwwww… goodd.. thanks from your info brother

  8. Kay June 15, 2009 at 9:40 am #

    Really loved the Texas Flag one but the abstract was too intense for me so I chose the Space age cover. It seems geared towards young adults and a new future.

  9. Karen Mitchell Smith June 15, 2009 at 9:53 am #

    I was first drawn to the Texas Flag and would prefer it for myself. But trying to think like a 20-something, I guess the space age design would be better for them. The roller ball would be my third choice.

  10. Linda June 15, 2009 at 9:53 am #

    For the purpose (Planner) liked this design the best.

    Really like the Texas Flag but would suggest a font (western style) for text on right side of graphic.

    Space Age Graphic would be great cover for campus catalog.

  11. Carrie June 15, 2009 at 1:03 pm #

    My first choice is the Label Maker, because I like the vibrant colors. Second choice is Space Age, since it fits with our new logo. The Texas Flag cover is well done, but I think it’s time for us to move on, create our own image, and give the flag a rest. Thanks for asking!

  12. Debra McIntosh June 18, 2009 at 6:46 pm #

    Yea, I meant to say the word “yourself” is upside down. Oops!

  13. Stephen Tiano September 27, 2009 at 7:34 pm #

    Well, Mark, I made it most of the way back. That is, after recovering my site and blog from its hacking and being kept busy by work, I am getting around to reestablishing my blogroll. The blogroll was lost, along with my archive of over two years’ worth of blogging about book design.

    I also had to change domains, so if you want, you can update me on your blogroll–I’ve just added you to my new blogroll. Now it is http://www.tianobookdesign.com/blog.

    And now to the question you raise: Your now infrequent blogging and the issue of who your blogigng audience is and how you think your blog can serve them. Simply put: Whassup with that?

    I’m still of a mind that blogging, like my Twitter presence, offers potential clients a look at where I come from as a book designer. A publisher’s blog, tho’, I’d think serves to give potential book buyers and authors an idea of what your books and approach to publishing is. That said, do you also view it as possibly a come on to potential students of TSTC’s book publishing program. I think that’s valid, as well.

    In any event, I wish you’d blog more often, as you’ve always put up interesting and thoughtful pieces that have made me question what I do and why.

Comments are closed.

