Blogs About Writing: Blog Roll

21 Sep

Four years ago, I knew nothing about blogs (give me a trend and I’ll catch up to it 10 years later.) A writer acquaintance of mine told me about her blog — the most recent incarnation of which is here — and I immediately saw a great opportunity for myself to build a Web presence through blogging. After going through several different sites, I settled on my own blog and began blogging, and also trolling the blogosphere, finding new blogs, particularly blogs related to writing and reading.

As I did last week, I’m going to post links to some of my favorite writing blogs. Some deal specifically with writing and developing craft, some are a bit more personal, but talk frequently about writing, and one is a well known author blog.

So, here are a handful of favorite blogs. The list is in no particular order.

After the MFA

A site by Gordon Hurd, who writes about his life as a writer after receiving his MFA in creative writing. This is a good site, and has a lot of great links to other sites about writing. There are frequent posts with resources for writers, as the most recent “Writing, Practicing, Excelling.”

Big Bad Book Blog

Administered by Greenleaf Book Group in Austin, Texas, this blog covers a gamut of publishing topics from writing to book distribution. The various writers are witty as well as insightful.

Fluent

Administered by Elizabeth, a writer in the San Francisco bay area, this is another site similar to After the MFA. She started the site to document her MFA experience, but now documents her writing life. Besides giving a picture of a writer’s life, we get resources about writing, and about the process of writing. It’s a nice mix of the personal and the process.

Straight From Hel

Adminstered by Austin area writer Helen Ginger, this is a nice site, as wel,l that mixes personal with process. As you can see from her recent post (Friday, Sept. 21, 2007), she’s been prolific about writing and the writing process.

Nick Hornby

Novelist Nick Hornby administers this blog. Hornby is one of my favorite writers. I love his wit and his blog and novels are worth reading to get a taste of that wit.

These are just five of my favorite blogs. There are many more, but it’s close to closing time here and I may try to start a new trend and post lists like this more frequently, and with some hope it won’t take 10 years for it to catch on.

Todd

5 Responses to “Blogs About Writing: Blog Roll”

  1. Helen Ginger September 21, 2007 at 6:34 pm #

    Thank you, Todd, for mentioning Straight From Hel. And even more so, thank you for the list of favorite blogs. I love Nick Hornby’s voice in his blog. And Big Bad Book Blog is definitely one I’ll bookmark and revisit.

  2. Jurgen Wolff September 22, 2007 at 2:41 am #

    Hi, thanks for the tips–I didn’t realize Nick Hornby had a blog. May I immodestly point you also to mine; http://www.timetowrite.blogs.com (daily posts regarding writing)? thanks, jurgen

  3. Patricia Fry September 22, 2007 at 8:13 am #

    Hi Todd,

    This is good information for those of us who are interested in writing/publishing. When you list publishing blogs, would you consider mine? http://www.matilijapress.com/publishingblog.

    Thanks,
    Patricia Fry, President
    SPAWN (Small Publishers, Artists and Writers Network)
    http://www.spawn.org
    Author of 27 books, 10 of them related to writing/publishing.

  4. Beth from Avenue Z October 3, 2007 at 8:50 am #

    Todd,

    Thanks for sharing this list. I’m always looking for fellow writers who share their experiences. I’ll come back to them often to catch up.

  5. Thesis Writing Help April 3, 2008 at 3:12 am #

    Thanks for sharing this useful list

Comments are closed.

