Meet The Publisher: Hey! Wait a Second . . . I Know That Guy!

3 Aug

Today I have to offer many thanks to Lori Cates Hand, of JIST Publishing, who also has the blog Publishing Careers. In one of those crazy circuitous ways the Internet works, Lori used to work for Joe Wikert, of Wiley Publishing and Publishing 2020 blog fame, who recently plugged her blog on his. Anyway, she commented on that post to thank him and also invited publishing industry folks to contact her to offer whatever advice/thoughts they might have about breaking into the business. Anyone who knows me knows that I have no problem holding forth about publishing and after some emails back and forth, Lori was generous enough to post my answers to the questions she sent me about publishing in general and my background in particular here.

While our blog deals with a lot of day-to-day publishing operations issues—and most publishing industry blogs deal with different specific areas like agenting, editing, graphics, marketing, and so on—I think Lori’s blog is helping to fill a very necessary space for those people who want to break into publishing but aren’t yet quite there. It’s a good read with a lot of useful information and I would certainly recommend it to anyone inside/outside the publishing world.

Mark

2 Responses to “Meet The Publisher: Hey! Wait a Second . . . I Know That Guy!”

  1. Lori Cates Hand August 3, 2007 at 1:41 pm #

    Hi Mark!

    Thanks so much for generously giving your time today to share your story and help inform and entertain the next generation of publishing pros. Great stuff!

    Lori

  2. Karen Smith August 20, 2007 at 5:07 pm #

    Hello, Mark. Just wanted to take a moment and let you know how much I enjoyed the piece on Rue Judd. She is, indeed, an amazing lady and the epitome of a TRUE southern gentlewoman. I’ve had the privilege of editing quite a few of Bright Sky’s titles over the past years, and while I’ve freelanced with many other companies, I can honestly say that none have topped working with Rue and her staff. Thanks for giving kudos where they are due!

    Karen Smith
    Top Shelf Editing

Comments are closed.

