Book Publishing Industry News: Simon & Schuster Sets Up Indian Publishing Program

8 Jan

From The Book Standard (alas, now defunct) on January 3, 2007:

“Following a year of getting noticed as one of the fastest-growing English-language markets in the world, including the country of honor position at the Frankfurt Book Fair in October, India is getting some new attention from Simon & Schuster. The publishing company will launch an Indian publishing program in early 2007, following up on the opening of an office in New Delhi in 2006.”

India is the biggest and newest expanding publishing market in the world; this is the third or fourth time in the last few months that I’ve heard something major and publishing related about it. As my previous post noted, it was only last week that we received our initial payment for licensing the foreign rights to one of our textbooks to a publisher in India. In addition–and also biomedical related–on Friday afternoon I was looking at a new biomedical textbook at our BET (biomedical equipment technology program) here at TSTC Waco written by an author in India but published by a major American textbook publisher. There seems–okay, it doesn’t seem, there just is— a big trend toward moving all aspects of book publishing to India.
This really hit home as I recalled a conversation I had last month with the president of a typesetting company that works primarily on university press and textbook projects in Austin, Texas. Recently his company merged with a much larger typesetting & composition company in India so we were chatting about how that had come about. He was telling me that the big North American textbook publishers have been making serious efforts to move all their set-up/prepress to India. (According to him doing that isn’t necessarily cheaper than doing it in the United States–yet–but it will be soon.) Given that, when the opportunity presented itself they seized upon the chance to make a direct business-to-business connection with an Indian service provider.

In terms of the global economy this is, of course, nothing new. But it does hit home in a very real sense once you see how it affects your own small corner of an industry. For anyone interested in the outsourcing phenomenon, I would suggest taking a long look at Thomas Friedman’s The World Is Flat [Updated and Expanded]: A Brief History of the Twenty-first Century. Although there have been some pretty intense critiques of the particulars of his analysis and conclusions, Friedman does provide a solid overview of this historic “leveling” of the business playing field.

Mark

Click Here to Subscribe to Our Blog Posts by Email

 

4 Responses to “Book Publishing Industry News: Simon & Schuster Sets Up Indian Publishing Program”

  1. Scottie January 8, 2007 at 3:13 pm #

    If you were awed by friedman’s Flat,
    you should consider:
    http://www.mkpress.com/flat
    and
    http://www.mkpress.com/flatoverview.html
    –scottie

  2. Nathan Hadden July 5, 2007 at 8:25 am #

    I saw the format of the paper back of maya lins’s book you published and realy like the style that the publisher used.. I have put together a book of an audiobio that talks about music I like and some of what it was like to be in college but it is like her book but has things like photographs of things I took or speical things or events that have happened in my life, I want to publish it, becuase it also includes hand written notes from when I saw the belated author Edward Said at the UW, which was not tape recorded, these are hand written lecture notes.. I have put together the whole book, I just like the paperback format that you used for her paper back format.. What I do I need to do to get this book published, I think it will sell.. I am trying to put music out, but this is my audio biography as well, I have also designed the cover.. thanks please wirte me if you can, sorry I do not know how this work, I think people will be intereseted in seeing the lecture notes as well… It also includes part of student written reports from when I was in college.

  3. sujoy March 18, 2008 at 1:52 am #

    Is there no way an indian author, resident in India, can submit a manuscript for consideration for an Indian edition?

  4. Sachin August 25, 2008 at 2:48 am #

    any idea wher’s simon n schuster’s office in Delhi???

Comments are closed.

